Tuesday , January 28 2020
Home / Entertainment / Areruya and Gerezghier Champions of Africa of Cycling 2018

Areruya and Gerezghier Champions of Africa of Cycling 2018

Team Rwanda winners Joseph Areruya and Didier Munyaneza in group photo with sponsor of the race

End this Sunday of the 2018 African Road Cycling Champions held since February 13 in Kigali. And the big champions are Amanuel Gerezghier and Joseph Areruya. Eritrean and Rwandan respectively won the elite and U23 online race to win the continental title.
Gerezghier flew over the final race by finishing the 168 km in the Rwandan capital in 3h 56 min 29. He is ahead of his compatriot Metkel Eyob (1 min 53 behind) and the Algerian Azzedine Lagab.
In the U23 category, Areruya continues its good season with the title ahead of Eritrean Henok Mulubrhan and another Rwandan Didier Munyaneza. A second gold medal for the local champion after the individual U23 time trial title.

Bisrat Ghebremeskel in the women’s category

Saturday was the junior, elite and U23 junior online races. On the side of men, Eritrean triplet with the coronation for Biniam Hailu- 1:56:43, followed by Tomas Yosief – 1:56:43 and Hager Mesfin (Eritrea) – 1:59:42.
In the women’s game, Eritrea’s new win with Desiet Kidane (Eritrea) – 1:32:26, ​​ahead of Ethiopia’s Tsadkan Kasahun – 1:36:05 and Zayid Hailu (Ethiopia) – 1:36:05.
In the elite category, the Eritrean Bisrat Ghebremeskel in 2:46:31 overtakes the Ethiopian Tsega Beyene – 2:46:38 and another Eritrean Mosana Debesay- 2:46:38.
And in U23, two Ethiopians in 1 and 3 with Tesfoam Eyeru Gebru- 2:46:38 and Selam Amha (Ethiopia) – 2:46:46. Eritrean Tigisti Gebrehiwet – 2:46:38 ranks second.
Big success for these African Championships with for the first time the live broadcast on a television channel of events. 23 countries took part in the competition.
The 156km race started with a total of 120 riders representing 20 countries but only 30 riders managed to complete the race, which was a total 13 laps around Amahoro stadium – Kimironko – Kibagabaga – Nyarutarama – Gishushu and back to Amahoro stadium. Among those who abandoned the race, were three Rwandans namely; veteran Adrien Niyonkuru, Valens Ndayisenga and Jean Bosco Ndayisenga.

Jean Louis Kagahe


About Kagahe Jean Louis

Check Also

Rwanda targets share of Africa’s logistics market

President Paul Kagame on Monday officiated at the launch of Dubai Ports (DP) World Kigali …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *